gamespy ad pages

Post any interesting custom filters here.

Moderators: Murray, Jeff

gamespy ad pages

Postby TheSquire » Mon Mar 14, 2005 9:41 pm

Hello!
Anyone familiar with gamespy knows those adpages that sneak in while browsing gamespy.com
I was wondering if there is any way to get rid of those, since no ads are displayed anyway.
This might not be possible with AM 4.* , but maybe with 5.0 ?

Any suggestions?

Christoph
TheSquire
Wiz
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2005 8:15 pm
Location: Norman, Oklahoma

Re: gamespy ad pages

Postby Jeff » Mon Mar 14, 2005 10:25 pm

TheSquire wrote:Hello!
Anyone familiar with gamespy knows those adpages that sneak in while browsing gamespy.com
I was wondering if there is any way to get rid of those, since no ads are displayed anyway.
This might not be possible with AM 4.* , but maybe with 5.0 ?

Any suggestions?

Christoph


For now just append ?fromint=1 to each address and you won't see the interstitial ad.

At some point Ad Muncher will most likely come with a filter that does this for you automatically.

This is dependant upon the ability to replace a string of text with a longer string of text. So probably beginning with v5.x :)
That's not an ad blocker... THIS is an ad blocker.
---
No bovines were harmed in the making of this program.
---
My first popup stopper blocked too much.
My second popup stopper didn't block enough.
Ad Muncher was juuuuust right.
User avatar
Jeff
Ad Muncher Developer
 
Posts: 6119
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 5:16 am
Location: California, United States

Postby TheSquire » Mon Mar 14, 2005 10:51 pm

So, I have to add ?fromint=1 to every address manually? That seems harder than clicking on the link from the adpage. Or maybe I don't understand what you are saying....?

Christoph
TheSquire
Wiz
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2005 8:15 pm
Location: Norman, Oklahoma

Postby Jeff » Mon Mar 14, 2005 11:33 pm

TheSquire wrote:So, I have to add ?fromint=1 to every address manually? That seems harder than clicking on the link from the adpage. Or maybe I don't understand what you are saying....?

Christoph


Yes you got it right. It's the only way for the moment.
At most it's an anoyance. The ads themselves are all blocked. :)

Not to worry, we've been aware of these types of ads for some time and all of them will be defeated eventually.

There are quite a few defeated already that you didn't even know about. =)
That's not an ad blocker... THIS is an ad blocker.
---
No bovines were harmed in the making of this program.
---
My first popup stopper blocked too much.
My second popup stopper didn't block enough.
Ad Muncher was juuuuust right.
User avatar
Jeff
Ad Muncher Developer
 
Posts: 6119
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 5:16 am
Location: California, United States

Postby TheSquire » Tue Mar 15, 2005 12:00 am

Thanks Jeff :)
I bet, I have heard about your filter list work, good job! I haven't noticed a difference in my browsing, and that's a good thing! No ads ever disturb me!
I am glad I bought AdMuncher, I hope more will.
TheSquire
Wiz
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2005 8:15 pm
Location: Norman, Oklahoma

Postby devin » Fri Mar 18, 2005 12:21 pm

if you wanted, you could try something slightly awkward such as using a replace text filter to replace:

<!doctype html public*www.w3.org*>*<html>*<head>*<title>GameSpy.com Advertisement</title>

with:

<html><head><script>location.href=window.location.href+'?fromint=1';</script>

it seems to work for me, anyway
devin
New User
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2005 12:05 pm

Postby TheSquire » Fri Mar 18, 2005 3:18 pm

I will try that, thank you devin!
TheSquire
Wiz
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2005 8:15 pm
Location: Norman, Oklahoma

Postby TheSquire » Fri Mar 18, 2005 7:25 pm

Works great! What about adding that to the default list Jeff?
TheSquire
Wiz
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2005 8:15 pm
Location: Norman, Oklahoma


Return to Custom Filters

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 6 guests

cron