Can I import / export "My Filters" ?

Post any interesting custom filters here.

Moderators: Murray, Jeff

Can I import / export "My Filters" ?

Postby TrialUser » Tue Apr 26, 2005 9:15 pm

Hi,

I used to browse with Firefox & the AdBlock extension. Now, I give Opera a try (as a second favorite only) and I'm desperately looking for an ad blocker.

So I stumbled upon Ad Muncher. But how do I import my carefully selected AdBlock-Filter-List into Ad Muncher? And how do I export it form Ad Muncher in case I'd like to reinstall my system?

Thanks,
TU
TrialUser
 

Postby TheSquire » Tue Apr 26, 2005 10:07 pm

First of all, very good choice indeed!
You don't need to import anything into Admuncher, it works right out of the box. Jeff maintains that list, so any problems, post here and he will take care of it.
About export, yes you can export your own filter entries (should you have any) to a file. AFAIK you can only use them in another AM installation though; Firefox AdBlock and AM aren't that compatible.

Hope that helped!
TheSquire
Wiz
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2005 8:15 pm
Location: Norman, Oklahoma

Postby Guest » Wed Apr 27, 2005 9:22 am

TheSquire wrote:it works right out of the box


Well, you're right. It actually works 99% at all accounts. For the remaing 1% it would still be useful
Guest
 

Postby Jeff » Wed Apr 27, 2005 11:46 am

For the remaining 1% report those sites with ads and we'll clean them up or give you the entries you need to do it.

Using your adblock list in ad muncher would be a waste.

We don't mind ad reports.

Feel free to post here or e-mail them to us at [email protected]
That's not an ad blocker... THIS is an ad blocker.
---
No bovines were harmed in the making of this program.
---
My first popup stopper blocked too much.
My second popup stopper didn't block enough.
Ad Muncher was juuuuust right.
User avatar
Jeff
Ad Muncher Developer
 
Posts: 6119
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 5:16 am
Location: California, United States

Postby adamlau » Mon May 09, 2005 7:00 am

I have the same question as I primarily use Adblock as an image filter. What I did was:

1. Export my Adblock filters to a text file.
2. Copy and pasted them into CustomStrings.dat, appending a B before each filter

Now my question is whether we are able to use regexps when editing URL strings manually in CustomStrings.dat...Yes? No?
adamlau
New User
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 6:56 am

Postby Jeff » Mon May 09, 2005 8:28 am

Ad Muncher does not as of yet support regular expressions.

This is being added for v5.x which is under going a complete rewrite to make it more portable and to overcome any short comings in the old filtering engine.

Ad Muncher is very fast though, so adding many entries to your custom list works just as well.
That's not an ad blocker... THIS is an ad blocker.
---
No bovines were harmed in the making of this program.
---
My first popup stopper blocked too much.
My second popup stopper didn't block enough.
Ad Muncher was juuuuust right.
User avatar
Jeff
Ad Muncher Developer
 
Posts: 6119
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 5:16 am
Location: California, United States


Return to Custom Filters

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron