Facebook's New side bar

Post any interesting custom filters here.

Moderators: Murray, Jeff

Facebook's New side bar

Postby sOulbAit » Fri Sep 23, 2011 9:38 pm

HI Ad Muncher:

I am very disapointed with Facebook's new side bar and instant update box.

You have your choice, you can have the side bar or if you close that is goes to just above your birthdays/friends, and when you scroll it keeps that line of information from scrolling up.

Is there anyway we can have Ad Muncher not let the two options load?

Please Please Please Help. That new facebook is driving me crazy.

Thank you so very much.
User avatar
sOulbAit
Addict
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2010 1:42 pm

Re: Facebook's New side bar

Postby Jeff » Sat Sep 24, 2011 6:31 am

unfortunately my account isn't showing these new changes...
That's not an ad blocker... THIS is an ad blocker.
---
No bovines were harmed in the making of this program.
---
My first popup stopper blocked too much.
My second popup stopper didn't block enough.
Ad Muncher was juuuuust right.
User avatar
Jeff
Ad Muncher Developer
 
Posts: 5794
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 5:16 am
Location: California, United States

Re: Facebook's New side bar

Postby sOulbAit » Sat Sep 24, 2011 7:55 am

Hi Jeff:

Here are a couple links that kinda talk about how to disable it.

I just cant seem to make it work with Ad Muncher:

http://lifehacker.com/5842578/how-to-ki ... ews-ticker

http://sumtips.com/2011/09/hide-faceboo ... p-bar.html

They call it there new "Ticker"

Thanks Jeff and have a great day.
User avatar
sOulbAit
Addict
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2010 1:42 pm

Re: Facebook's New side bar

Postby Jeff » Sat Sep 24, 2011 11:58 am

Add CSS to all pages:
#pagelet_rhc_ticker, #pagelet_ticker {display:none;}
That's not an ad blocker... THIS is an ad blocker.
---
No bovines were harmed in the making of this program.
---
My first popup stopper blocked too much.
My second popup stopper didn't block enough.
Ad Muncher was juuuuust right.
User avatar
Jeff
Ad Muncher Developer
 
Posts: 5794
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 5:16 am
Location: California, United States

Re: Facebook's New side bar

Postby sOulbAit » Sat Sep 24, 2011 3:32 pm

Thanks you so much Jeff.

Have a great day.

sOulbAit
User avatar
sOulbAit
Addict
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2010 1:42 pm

Re: Facebook's New side bar

Postby sOulbAit » Sat Sep 24, 2011 4:06 pm

Hi Jeff:

I gave it a try and it did not work.

I know it is probably my mistake.

Here is what I did. I copied and pasted: #pagelet_rhc_ticker, #pagelet_ticker {display:none;}
In the Keyword / URL / Text field.

Then I clicked on: Add CSS to all pages: Under filter category.

I also restarted the computer.

Where did I go work. hehehhe

Thank you so much for your time Jeff and have a great day.
User avatar
sOulbAit
Addict
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2010 1:42 pm

Re: Facebook's New side bar

Postby Jeff » Sat Sep 24, 2011 8:03 pm

I have no idea.

I took it from that page you gave me.
That's not an ad blocker... THIS is an ad blocker.
---
No bovines were harmed in the making of this program.
---
My first popup stopper blocked too much.
My second popup stopper didn't block enough.
Ad Muncher was juuuuust right.
User avatar
Jeff
Ad Muncher Developer
 
Posts: 5794
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 5:16 am
Location: California, United States

Re: Facebook's New side bar

Postby Beelzebubba » Sun Sep 25, 2011 7:39 am

Thanks Jeff, that worked for me. I did a lot of searching before I received your reply and found this one on a Facebook tweaking site
that seems to do the same thing. Same deal, create an add CSS to all pages filter

Code: Select all
.ticker_stream { display:none !important; }


Maybe that one will work for sOulbAit
Beelzebubba
New User
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 7:33 am

Re: Facebook's New side bar

Postby sOulbAit » Sun Sep 25, 2011 2:09 pm

Thanks Beelzebubba:

Still no luck. Maybe I have somthing else running that is interfering. I have tried a few other codes found on the internet but no luck.

I also have google chrome and I use the "Unannoying Facebook" addon and that works perfect:

https://chrome.google.com/webstore/deta ... kplpdaohoe

It completely removes the ticker when it is in the main page and not the sidebar position.

All the other custom entries you have given me Jeff have worked perfect in the past. This one is just being stubern.

Thanks again Beelzebubba and Jeff. I'll keep playing with some of the codeing and see what I can come up with.

Have a great day.
User avatar
sOulbAit
Addict
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2010 1:42 pm


Return to Custom Filters

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron