Google banner in Firefox

Post any interesting custom filters here.

Moderators: Murray, Jeff

Google banner in Firefox

Postby Hans L » Wed Jun 10, 2015 4:13 pm

Hello:

Many have seen the Google banner "Get to Google faster. Switch your default search engine to Google." in Firefox. I am not good at filters in AdMuncher, so I am asking here if there is any way to get rid of this banner with AM? (By the way, Google search engine is my home page.)

Thanks,

Hans L
Hans L
Active Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 1:48 am

Re: Google banner in Firefox

Postby Jeff » Wed Jun 10, 2015 10:46 pm

is the page HTTPS?

if so then Ad Muncher can't filter it.

you will need to set the IP in your hosts file to force it to be HTTP

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=29313&p=59907#p59867

then you can remove it with this custom filter:

Remove divs/spans with text:
<div class="pdp-psy" id="pushdown"
That's not an ad blocker... THIS is an ad blocker.
---
No bovines were harmed in the making of this program.
---
My first popup stopper blocked too much.
My second popup stopper didn't block enough.
Ad Muncher was juuuuust right.
User avatar
Jeff
Ad Muncher Developer
 
Posts: 6119
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 5:16 am
Location: California, United States

Re: Google banner in Firefox

Postby Hans L » Thu Jun 11, 2015 5:49 pm

Yes, https.

Unfortunately, Jeff, it did not work (what you suggested). I have (note "sample" below; problem?)

hosts

# Copyright (c) 1993-2009 Microsoft Corp.
#
# This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
#
# This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
# entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
# be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
# The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
# space.
#
# Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
# lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
#
# For example:
#
# 102.54.94.97 rhino.acme.com # source server
# 38.25.63.10 x.acme.com # x client host

# localhost name resolution is handled within DNS itself.
# 127.0.0.1 localhost
# ::1 localhost
# Start of entries inserted by Spybot - Search & Destroy
127.0.0.1 http://www.007guard.com
127.0.0.1 007guard.com
[TONS OF 127.0.0.1]
127.0.0.1 zxsex2.info
127.0.0.1 zyban-zocor-levitra.com
# This list is Copyright 2000-2010 Safer-Networking Ltd.
# End of entries inserted by Spybot - Search & Destroy
# Added by Hans L
216.239.32.20 google.com
216.239.32.20 http://www.google.com

and then, in AM > My Filters, what you see in the attachment.

Computer restarted.

Kindly advise.

Hans L
Attachments
AM filter.jpg
AM filter.jpg (58.63 KiB) Viewed 2568 times
Hans L
Active Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 1:48 am

Re: Google banner in Firefox

Postby Hans L » Thu Jun 11, 2015 6:24 pm

Ooooops, it works if I click Firefox Homepage icon. But if I click an old bookmark in the bookmark toolbar, it does not work (I have cleared cache).

However, I deleted this bookmark icon and created a new one, and now, that works too.

Thank you very much for your help, Jeff!!!

Hans L
Hans L
Active Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 1:48 am

Re: Google banner in Firefox

Postby Jeff » Thu Jun 11, 2015 10:01 pm

my pleasure :)

P.S. delete your zillow entry...it should not be needed any more.
That's not an ad blocker... THIS is an ad blocker.
---
No bovines were harmed in the making of this program.
---
My first popup stopper blocked too much.
My second popup stopper didn't block enough.
Ad Muncher was juuuuust right.
User avatar
Jeff
Ad Muncher Developer
 
Posts: 6119
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 5:16 am
Location: California, United States

Re: Google banner in Firefox

Postby Hans L » Wed Jun 24, 2015 5:10 pm

Jeff, I saw your text "P.S. delete your zillow entry...it should not be needed any more." only yesterday (by pure chance), and I removed the zillow entry. This morning, I notieced that the Google promotion was back, and when I put zillow back, Google promotion was, again, gone.

Regards,

Hans L
Hans L
Active Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 1:48 am

Re: Google banner in Firefox

Postby Hans L » Wed Jun 24, 2015 5:19 pm

Geeeez, no sooner had I posted the above message than the Google banner was back (it was acutally gone until I restarted Firefox again).

What gives?

Hans L
Hans L
Active Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 1:48 am

Re: Google banner in Firefox

Postby Jeff » Wed Jun 24, 2015 5:31 pm

The HOSTS file trick to make google stay on HTTP is no longer working.

We may need a new IP address for it.
That's not an ad blocker... THIS is an ad blocker.
---
No bovines were harmed in the making of this program.
---
My first popup stopper blocked too much.
My second popup stopper didn't block enough.
Ad Muncher was juuuuust right.
User avatar
Jeff
Ad Muncher Developer
 
Posts: 6119
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 5:16 am
Location: California, United States

Re: Google banner in Firefox

Postby Jeff » Tue Jul 07, 2015 8:28 pm

http://www.google.com/?nord=1 <--- safe search on and no SSL

http://www.google.ca/?nord=1 <--- safe search off and no SSL

bookmark accordingly...

Whatever happened to user choice...?
That's not an ad blocker... THIS is an ad blocker.
---
No bovines were harmed in the making of this program.
---
My first popup stopper blocked too much.
My second popup stopper didn't block enough.
Ad Muncher was juuuuust right.
User avatar
Jeff
Ad Muncher Developer
 
Posts: 6119
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 5:16 am
Location: California, United States


Return to Custom Filters

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest

cron