Filter to remove content based on a keyword

Post any interesting custom filters here.

Moderators: Murray, Jeff

Filter to remove content based on a keyword

Postby enduser » Wed Dec 02, 2015 1:43 pm

Is it possible to block content or stories from a webpage based on a text keyword?
I'm tired of stories about the Kardashian clan reported as news. Can the word
Kardashian be used as a trigger to remove that specific content on a webpage?

I tried using the customs filters but I have not been successful at removing it.
Thanks.
enduser
Wiz
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 11:02 am

Re: Filter to remove content based on a keyword

Postby Jeff » Wed Dec 02, 2015 6:58 pm

sure.

remove tables or remove divs with text.
That's not an ad blocker... THIS is an ad blocker.
---
No bovines were harmed in the making of this program.
---
My first popup stopper blocked too much.
My second popup stopper didn't block enough.
Ad Muncher was juuuuust right.
User avatar
Jeff
Ad Muncher Developer
 
Posts: 6119
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 5:16 am
Location: California, United States

Re: Filter to remove content based on a keyword

Postby enduser » Thu Dec 03, 2015 9:55 pm

Jeff,

Can you please provide an example how to do that?
I did not have any luck getting it to work.

Thanks
enduser
Wiz
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 11:02 am

Re: Filter to remove content based on a keyword

Postby Jeff » Fri Dec 04, 2015 2:15 am

Remove divs/spans with text:
kardashian

Remove tables with text:
kardashian

;)

this will break some pages of course...
That's not an ad blocker... THIS is an ad blocker.
---
No bovines were harmed in the making of this program.
---
My first popup stopper blocked too much.
My second popup stopper didn't block enough.
Ad Muncher was juuuuust right.
User avatar
Jeff
Ad Muncher Developer
 
Posts: 6119
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 5:16 am
Location: California, United States

Re: Filter to remove content based on a keyword

Postby enduser » Fri Dec 04, 2015 8:40 pm

Awesome Jeff :-)
It works so good that I can't even see my own post with the keyword when the filter is enabled.

OK one more thing how do you filter out a full name such as "kanye west"?
I tried using the same format you posted but it does not work with when using two key words.

Thanks
enduser
Wiz
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 11:02 am

Re: Filter to remove content based on a keyword

Postby Jeff » Sat Dec 05, 2015 6:43 am

sure it does...

Remove tables with text:
kanye west

Remove divs/spans with text:
kanye west

check for trailing and leading spaces in your filter...
That's not an ad blocker... THIS is an ad blocker.
---
No bovines were harmed in the making of this program.
---
My first popup stopper blocked too much.
My second popup stopper didn't block enough.
Ad Muncher was juuuuust right.
User avatar
Jeff
Ad Muncher Developer
 
Posts: 6119
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 5:16 am
Location: California, United States

Re: Filter to remove content based on a keyword

Postby enduser » Sat Dec 05, 2015 10:29 pm

Jeff,

It appears that the removal is inconsistent. I cleared the cache, but the articles with those names are sometimes cleared
and other times not. Today on Yahoo, articles appear with both the names mentioned above but none were removed.
What is going on? I'm confused with the operation of this filter.
enduser
Wiz
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 11:02 am

Re: Filter to remove content based on a keyword

Postby Jeff » Sun Dec 06, 2015 1:20 am

if it's not being removed there's a reason for it.

without the exact site in question I would just be making up an answer.
That's not an ad blocker... THIS is an ad blocker.
---
No bovines were harmed in the making of this program.
---
My first popup stopper blocked too much.
My second popup stopper didn't block enough.
Ad Muncher was juuuuust right.
User avatar
Jeff
Ad Muncher Developer
 
Posts: 6119
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 5:16 am
Location: California, United States

Re: Filter to remove content based on a keyword

Postby enduser » Sun Dec 06, 2015 1:42 pm

On the Yahoo main page these stories appear daily, sometimes several in a day. Here are is a link to the one running today:
https://www.yahoo.com/
https://www.yahoo.com/tv/s/kardashian-f ... 00937.html

I'm not sure how I can present this to you, but I thought that the filter would wipe tables and headlines based on a keyword.
It worked great for a day or so then now it is ineffective.
enduser
Wiz
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 11:02 am

Re: Filter to remove content based on a keyword

Postby Jeff » Sun Dec 06, 2015 7:45 pm

https pages can't be filtered.
That's not an ad blocker... THIS is an ad blocker.
---
No bovines were harmed in the making of this program.
---
My first popup stopper blocked too much.
My second popup stopper didn't block enough.
Ad Muncher was juuuuust right.
User avatar
Jeff
Ad Muncher Developer
 
Posts: 6119
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 5:16 am
Location: California, United States

Re: Filter to remove content based on a keyword

Postby enduser » Sun Dec 06, 2015 11:33 pm

Same problem with a http site. The filter has stopped working.

http://hsrd.yahoo.com/_ylt=A0SO4loPxWRW ... SF1vtf2.c-
enduser
Wiz
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 11:02 am

Re: Filter to remove content based on a keyword

Postby Jeff » Mon Dec 07, 2015 1:36 am

the final page is https.
That's not an ad blocker... THIS is an ad blocker.
---
No bovines were harmed in the making of this program.
---
My first popup stopper blocked too much.
My second popup stopper didn't block enough.
Ad Muncher was juuuuust right.
User avatar
Jeff
Ad Muncher Developer
 
Posts: 6119
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 5:16 am
Location: California, United States


Return to Custom Filters

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest