AdMuncher a failure with "Yahoo! Answers"

Suggest or request default filters here. Please include your current Ad Muncher version and any applicable URLs.

Moderators: Murray, Jeff

AdMuncher a failure with "Yahoo! Answers"

Postby Steve J » Mon Dec 05, 2011 5:54 am

I am on "Yahoo Answers" daily, but there's an element of Y!A which is often eating up 100% (no joke) of my CPU.
AdMuncher gets rid of the ads, but it does nothing with the 'dotted blue underlines' within people's Best Answers,
and those are buggers which are eating up all my CPU -- even after the page has been sitting there for a minute.

As such, I'm sad to say that AdMuncher is practically useless to me, since Y!A pages often take 10 or 15 seconds
to fully load -- nevermind closing off the page, returning back to the page where I was before, or switching tabs.

I've tried tinkering with various aspects of AdMuncher, but can't seem to get anything to work properly. Perhaps
I'm asking for the impossible, but the 30-day free-trial of "Simple Adblock" had NO problems whatsoever getting
rid of those 'dotted blue underlines'. If I have failed to do something, please do tell, but for now here's an image
of what I mean, along with a direct link to that webpage:

http://i.imgur.com/0IEfv.png
http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index ... 824AA0dkxA

Steve J.
Windows XP, Internet Explorer 7
Ad Muncher v4.92 Build 32700/3807
Steve J
New User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 4:11 am

Re: AdMuncher a failure with "Yahoo! Answers"

Postby Jeff » Mon Dec 05, 2011 6:05 am

I can only block what users report. :)

This is the first report for these.

removed for list build 3834 which will be out for registered users in 12 hours or so.

Also, install this version.

www.admuncher.com/beta.pl
That's not an ad blocker... THIS is an ad blocker.
---
No bovines were harmed in the making of this program.
---
My first popup stopper blocked too much.
My second popup stopper didn't block enough.
Ad Muncher was juuuuust right.
User avatar
Jeff
Ad Muncher Developer
 
Posts: 6119
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 5:16 am
Location: California, United States

Re: AdMuncher a failure with "Yahoo! Answers"

Postby Steve J » Tue Dec 06, 2011 4:29 am

Thank you for the prompt reply, Jeff. Unfortunately, the beta version doesn't munch the "Intellitext" advertising,
and actually makes any "Intellitext Y!A page" load SLOWER than as if I hadn't installed Ad Muncher to begin with.
:-(
Steve J
New User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 4:11 am

Re: AdMuncher a failure with "Yahoo! Answers"

Postby Jeff » Tue Dec 06, 2011 4:15 pm

intellitext has been blocked for years.

you should not be seeing it.

intellitext is not the same as the yahoo shortcuts in your first post.
That's not an ad blocker... THIS is an ad blocker.
---
No bovines were harmed in the making of this program.
---
My first popup stopper blocked too much.
My second popup stopper didn't block enough.
Ad Muncher was juuuuust right.
User avatar
Jeff
Ad Muncher Developer
 
Posts: 6119
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 5:16 am
Location: California, United States

Re: AdMuncher a failure with "Yahoo! Answers"

Postby Steve J » Tue Dec 06, 2011 7:17 pm

Well then, it's the Yahoo! shortcuts (or their in-house version of Intellitext) that's the problem. Any ideas / help?
:?:
Steve J
New User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 4:11 am

Re: AdMuncher a failure with "Yahoo! Answers"

Postby Jeff » Wed Dec 07, 2011 3:27 am

I told you. it's removed for in a list update for registered users.
That's not an ad blocker... THIS is an ad blocker.
---
No bovines were harmed in the making of this program.
---
My first popup stopper blocked too much.
My second popup stopper didn't block enough.
Ad Muncher was juuuuust right.
User avatar
Jeff
Ad Muncher Developer
 
Posts: 6119
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 5:16 am
Location: California, United States


Return to Default Filters

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests