Remove ToolBar

Report any Ad Muncher crashes or odd behavior here. Please include your Ad Muncher version and any applicable URLs.

Moderators: Murray, Jeff

Remove ToolBar

Postby daniisman » Mon Feb 20, 2012 1:32 pm

Hello
Just updated admuncher and now have a toolbar i dont want from admuncher, how do i remove it ? thanks.
daniisman
Wiz
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:11 pm

Re: Remove ToolBar

Postby AkbarRi » Mon Feb 20, 2012 2:39 pm

Where is it?
[ Blink, Gecko, Presto, Webkit + AdMuncher + Squid + Bind ]
User avatar
AkbarRi
Wiz
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 5:59 pm
Location: CAT, Inc

Re: Remove ToolBar

Postby Wissertje » Mon Feb 20, 2012 5:05 pm

I think he means when you usen ctrl + rightclick mouse. The new way of the browser extension. I also liked the old way better than the new one.

Finished implementing a new toolbar system for Ad Muncher. This
system displays a toolbar inside filtered pages whenever the shift
key is held down, or when a popup is blocked or other information
needs to be displayed.
This system has replaced the old browser extension system and means
we don't need a different version of the extensions for every
browser type, and will allow us to expose much more complex
functionality in the future.
Wissertje
Active Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 6:05 am

Re: Remove ToolBar

Postby Zootopia3000 » Mon Feb 20, 2012 9:19 pm

Found what appears to be a new option in configuration to be checked/unchecked...
'Display a notice in the browser status and title bars when a popup or alert is blocked'

Might have been there all along. I just now unchecked it.

Also, no browser right click context menu anymore for admuncher. I guess now if you want to block/unblock an image permanently from now on you must ctrl-rightclick the appropriate area to then get the admuncher popdown menu to filter/unfilter(or report).
Zootopia3000
Addict
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 8:10 pm

Re: Remove ToolBar

Postby daniisman » Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:18 am

Nothing in config seems to stop it , i didnt even get an option not to have it, so i'm kinda annoyed. I dont like surprises like that.
daniisman
Wiz
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:11 pm

Re: Remove ToolBar

Postby Jeff » Tue Feb 21, 2012 6:25 am

This toolbar is the new browser integration for all browsers.

It should only appear if a popup or alert msg is blocked.

Otherwise it should never bother you or interfere.

You can make it appear with a CTRL + right click.

From there you can report ads or page damage, as well as munch items and exclude a site from being filtered.

many other features will be added to this in the future.

Please play with it and give us all of your feedback. good and bad.

wanting it to go away forever isn't feedback. ;p
That's not an ad blocker... THIS is an ad blocker.
---
No bovines were harmed in the making of this program.
---
My first popup stopper blocked too much.
My second popup stopper didn't block enough.
Ad Muncher was juuuuust right.
User avatar
Jeff
Ad Muncher Developer
 
Posts: 6119
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 5:16 am
Location: California, United States

Re: Remove ToolBar

Postby blank » Tue Feb 21, 2012 9:43 am

This bar shows too frequently on sites that i know don't have popups.
I don't want to see any bars period. Not the original pop up, nor this new toolbar. i find this new toolbar just as annoying as a real popup.

please implement a way to disable it from ever showing. IT SHOWS TOO MUCH.

wanting it to go away forever isn't feedback. ;p


maybe you'll consider it feedback when we stop subscribing. :roll:

btw i thought i already had a member account on the forums :|

very disappointed, and even more disappointed in the fact that multiple users are here complaining and the dev doesnt seem to care.
blank
New User
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 9:40 am

Re: Remove ToolBar

Postby Zootopia3000 » Tue Feb 21, 2012 4:06 pm

The ad muncher toolbar does not show for me when an ad/popup is blocked. I went to AdMuncher's Options/Popups menu and UNCHECKED 'Display a notice in the browser status and title bars when a popup or alert is blocked'. It was checked by default when this latest beta was installed. Don't recall that option being there before beta version 33053.
Zootopia3000
Addict
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 8:10 pm

Re: Remove ToolBar

Postby ulta » Tue Feb 21, 2012 4:13 pm

Jeff wrote:This toolbar is the new browser integration for all browsers.

It should only appear if a popup or alert msg is blocked.

Otherwise it should never bother you or interfere.

You can make it appear with a CTRL + right click.



(----this is by translate.google.com----)

I can understand.
But
At least give the user a choice, to this new toolbar

Hope that other new features, will not be an iron fist fierce political。。
ulta
Active Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 1:56 pm

Re: Remove ToolBar

Postby Zootopia3000 » Tue Feb 21, 2012 4:23 pm

UPDATE:
My bad... The AdMuncher dropdown menu DOES appear when popups are blocked. Just went to www.popuptest.com/ to verify the problem. Guess the sites I typically go to don't have popups. Gee, where are all you other people going to get all these popups?

Yea, I don't like that annoyance either. About as bad as going to MSN.com and having them recommend with a dropdown menu to install IE9. Yea, that's all fine and dandy if it wasn't for the fact that IE9 can't be installed on XP.
Zootopia3000
Addict
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 8:10 pm

Re: Remove ToolBar

Postby Zootopia3000 » Tue Feb 21, 2012 4:32 pm

Also note:
With an older version of Opera... 9.27... I get the following error:

<www.popuptest.com>

The Ad Muncher toolbar is not compatible with the browser you are using.

Please try the latest version of any major browser to make use of the toolbar.

I use Opera 9.27 because I consider it to be the most secure version of Opera when visiting certain particular sites, if you know what I mean. Otherwise, my main browsers are Firefox 10.0.2 and IE8.
Zootopia3000
Addict
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 8:10 pm

Re: Remove ToolBar

Postby blank » Tue Feb 21, 2012 6:12 pm

Zootopia3000 wrote:UPDATE:
My bad... The AdMuncher dropdown menu DOES appear when popups are blocked. Just went to http://www.popuptest.com/ to verify the problem. Guess the sites I typically go to don't have popups. Gee, where are all you other people going to get all these popups?

Yea, I don't like that annoyance either. About as bad as going to MSN.com and having them recommend with a dropdown menu to install IE9. Yea, that's all fine and dandy if it wasn't for the fact that IE9 can't be installed on XP.


The sites i goto shouldn't have pop ups, but i guess i wouldn't know since i never had a damn bar drop down constantly telling me that this is happening.

if you MUST force this ugly and colorful toolbar on us, make it show at the bottom so that it doesnt constantly drop down blocking the top bar that most sites have that let you check you login/login out/check messages, etc.
but it'd be best to just give us the option to enable to disable this.

i downgraded to the previous build of AM for now.
blank
New User
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 9:40 am

Re: Remove ToolBar

Postby ZombyWoof » Tue Feb 21, 2012 6:29 pm

blank wrote:if you MUST force this ugly and colorful toolbar on us, make it show at the bottom so that it doesnt constantly drop down blocking the top bar that most sites have that let you check you login/login out/check messages, etc.
but it'd be best to just give us the option to enable to disable this.


While I'm not a fan of ANY toolbars, I respect Murray's decision to change/modify his program to best fit his needs to work with various browsers.

I also request the option to enable/disable the toolbar.

Alternatively, has a notification tray popup been considered instead of a toolbar?

Also, a popup toolbar on the bottom might be another option.

Perhaps, have the toolbar or notification tray popup have transparency might be considered.
ZombyWoof
Active Member
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 5:19 pm

Re: Remove ToolBar

Postby Jeff » Tue Feb 21, 2012 7:15 pm

Zootopia3000 wrote:Also note:
With an older version of Opera... 9.27... I get the following error:

<www.popuptest.com>

The Ad Muncher toolbar is not compatible with the browser you are using.

Please try the latest version of any major browser to make use of the toolbar.

I use Opera 9.27 because I consider it to be the most secure version of Opera when visiting certain particular sites, if you know what I mean. Otherwise, my main browsers are Firefox 10.0.2 and IE8.


It's literally not compatible. there's nothing we can do about that.
That's not an ad blocker... THIS is an ad blocker.
---
No bovines were harmed in the making of this program.
---
My first popup stopper blocked too much.
My second popup stopper didn't block enough.
Ad Muncher was juuuuust right.
User avatar
Jeff
Ad Muncher Developer
 
Posts: 6119
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 5:16 am
Location: California, United States

Re: Remove ToolBar

Postby Jeff » Tue Feb 21, 2012 7:17 pm

This is just the first version of the toolbar.

It's going to take time to make it acceptable for everyone. so please bear with us as we improve it.
That's not an ad blocker... THIS is an ad blocker.
---
No bovines were harmed in the making of this program.
---
My first popup stopper blocked too much.
My second popup stopper didn't block enough.
Ad Muncher was juuuuust right.
User avatar
Jeff
Ad Muncher Developer
 
Posts: 6119
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 5:16 am
Location: California, United States

Next

Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron