Ad Muncher Toolbar Survey

Ad Muncher status updates will be posted here.

Moderators: Murray, Jeff

What do you think of the toolbar?

Thumbs up
21
48%
Thumbs down
16
36%
Don't feel strongly either way
6
14%
What toolbar?
1
2%
 
Total votes : 44

Re: Ad Muncher Toolbar Survey

Postby Jeff » Fri Jul 13, 2012 12:26 pm

disabling filtering should be a rare thing and a measure of last resort.

our goal is to have no broken pages, so report all damage to us and we will fix it.
That's not an ad blocker... THIS is an ad blocker.
---
No bovines were harmed in the making of this program.
---
My first popup stopper blocked too much.
My second popup stopper didn't block enough.
Ad Muncher was juuuuust right.
User avatar
Jeff
Ad Muncher Developer
 
Posts: 6119
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 5:16 am
Location: California, United States

Re: Ad Muncher Toolbar Survey

Postby J-Mac » Fri Jul 13, 2012 4:27 pm

+1 for the icon indicator!

Jim
J-Mac
Addict
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 6:37 pm

Re: Ad Muncher Toolbar Survey

Postby avguser » Fri Jul 13, 2012 5:25 pm

[quote="Jeff"]disabling filtering should be a rare thing and a measure of last resort.

our goal is to have no broken pages, so report all damage to us and we will fix it.[/quote]

On sites that i use regularly and are reputable such as bbc site i always use a "no filtering on url" filter which is effectivley disabling filtering,so im not sure why it should be a rare thing?.Although logs shows that theres no filtering and "my filters" show that i have the filter in place ,it still would be nice to have a visible indication of this without having to open the admuncher gui to check or to have to execute a keyboard/mouse command.A simple indicator would be so much easier ,as is the case with ABP.
avguser
New User
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 5:56 pm

Re: Ad Muncher Toolbar Survey

Postby Jeff » Fri Jul 13, 2012 7:34 pm

it wouldn't be a simple thing since Ad Muncher isn't a browser add-on, it doesn't have access to any of the browser API's

Ad Muncher is basically a proxy.

Any solution would have to work with all browsers.

Thank you for the suggestion, we'll keep it in mind. :)
That's not an ad blocker... THIS is an ad blocker.
---
No bovines were harmed in the making of this program.
---
My first popup stopper blocked too much.
My second popup stopper didn't block enough.
Ad Muncher was juuuuust right.
User avatar
Jeff
Ad Muncher Developer
 
Posts: 6119
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 5:16 am
Location: California, United States

Re: Ad Muncher Toolbar Survey

Postby avguser » Sat Jul 14, 2012 6:21 am

Thanks for the information.I guessed it may not be that easy to do otherwise it probably would have been done.Im not a programmer so i dont understand how easily these things are accomplished.One thought i had would be to somehow link the "my filters" log to the admuncher tray icon,where it would change to a specified colour if the "no filtering on url" filter was active for a website.In theory this would then show that a website was not being filtered?.Again im not a programmer so i dont know how easy that would be to implement or if there would be problems encountered because of it.
avguser
New User
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 5:56 pm

Re: Ad Muncher Toolbar Survey

Postby Jeff » Sat Jul 14, 2012 7:59 am

That could theoretically it could be done with this:

https://developer.mozilla.org/en/DOM/Us ... bility_API

But browser support isn't there yet.
That's not an ad blocker... THIS is an ad blocker.
---
No bovines were harmed in the making of this program.
---
My first popup stopper blocked too much.
My second popup stopper didn't block enough.
Ad Muncher was juuuuust right.
User avatar
Jeff
Ad Muncher Developer
 
Posts: 6119
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 5:16 am
Location: California, United States

Re: Ad Muncher Toolbar Survey

Postby mranak » Thu Sep 13, 2012 6:35 pm

[quote="Murray"]We've introduced a new toolbar system which shows a toolbar at the top of the browser window, but only when you hold CTRL or SHIFT and right-click on a filtered page, or when a popup has been blocked.[/quote]
Thanks. I just found this information here using google. I think when I first install Ad Muncher on a system it might tell me this but I can't remember. I don't find this information using help. Am I the only user that forgets/doesn't know this? Is so then perhaps there is a non-invasive way to communicate to forgetful users like myself.
mranak
New User
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 3:09 am

Previous

Return to Development Status

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron