Configuration storage survey

Ad Muncher status updates will be posted here.

Moderators: Murray, Jeff

Would you use an option to "Store configuration files in Ad Muncher's program directory"?

Yes (please let us know why)
26
33%
No
54
68%
 
Total votes : 80

Postby Shamurai » Fri Oct 19, 2007 3:36 pm

Is AM allowed to be run on a flash drive? If so, I plan to move my installation now so I can use this at work.
This posting is provided "AS IS" with warranties of every kind, and confers all rights.
Shamurai
Master
 
Posts: 421
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2005 11:05 pm

Postby Jeff » Sat Oct 20, 2007 3:03 am

It's a per machine license.
That's not an ad blocker... THIS is an ad blocker.
---
No bovines were harmed in the making of this program.
---
My first popup stopper blocked too much.
My second popup stopper didn't block enough.
Ad Muncher was juuuuust right.
User avatar
Jeff
Ad Muncher Developer
 
Posts: 6119
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 5:16 am
Location: California, United States

Postby Shamurai » Sat Oct 20, 2007 9:53 am

OK, and if AM is running on a flash drive, then it is only running on one machine at a time which is the number most users pay for. So if I am understanding this right, it sounds like it is acceptable. Or am I wrong? I would like a definitive answer on this before I do it.
This posting is provided "AS IS" with warranties of every kind, and confers all rights.
Shamurai
Master
 
Posts: 421
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2005 11:05 pm

Postby F_L » Sat Oct 20, 2007 10:17 am

U pay only one machine license. It's mean thet u can use your program only on one machine in the same time. Machine where u working now. All is simple i think.
F_L
Active Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 11:07 am
Location: Russia, Moscow city

Postby Shamurai » Sat Oct 20, 2007 10:20 am

I would think so to, but as I said, I would like clarification because I don't want to violate my license terms. If I am allowed to carry this with me on a usb stick and use it on any pc I come to with said drive, then I will be doing so.
This posting is provided "AS IS" with warranties of every kind, and confers all rights.
Shamurai
Master
 
Posts: 421
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2005 11:05 pm

Postby Jeff » Sat Oct 20, 2007 10:42 am

Stay on topic please.
That's not an ad blocker... THIS is an ad blocker.
---
No bovines were harmed in the making of this program.
---
My first popup stopper blocked too much.
My second popup stopper didn't block enough.
Ad Muncher was juuuuust right.
User avatar
Jeff
Ad Muncher Developer
 
Posts: 6119
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 5:16 am
Location: California, United States

Postby war59312 » Sun Oct 21, 2007 3:28 am

Nice, glad to hear you took my advice to heart. :) Options never hurt anyone.

Though I see most people won't need it, so perhaps it would be better to simply make it a command line option instead of "cluttering" up the GUI. Just a thought...
Statistics for Ad Muncher v4.94.34121/6855 (Free)
Adverts removed: 6,685,622
Bandwidth saved: 196,824 MB
Counter started: April 2, 2003

Image

6,685,421 items blocked - 196.8 GB saved - 3.2 weeks saved - 3,075,293 trackers blocked - 15,443,322 cookies blocked
war59312
Wiz
 
Posts: 904
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 4:03 am
Location: U.S.A

Postby war59312 » Sun Oct 21, 2007 3:30 am

Whoops forgot something and since can't edit post for some reason?

Anyhow, yes I agree with moving to the correct folder under your user data and not program files. Thanks for doing this!!
Statistics for Ad Muncher v4.94.34121/6855 (Free)
Adverts removed: 6,685,622
Bandwidth saved: 196,824 MB
Counter started: April 2, 2003

Image

6,685,421 items blocked - 196.8 GB saved - 3.2 weeks saved - 3,075,293 trackers blocked - 15,443,322 cookies blocked
war59312
Wiz
 
Posts: 904
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 4:03 am
Location: U.S.A

Postby Murray » Tue Oct 23, 2007 7:32 am

Thanks very much everyone for taking the time to reply and participate in the survey. I'm suprised at how popular the option is, and so will be including it for v4.72.

The v4.72 changes are taking a little longer than I first thought (most of the installer is being rewritten), but rest assured I'm working flat out to get the new version into beta ASAP :-)
User avatar
Murray
Ad Muncher Developer
 
Posts: 545
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2005 6:55 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Postby horizon » Wed Oct 24, 2007 8:28 am

%appdata% is standard and that's it. Outlook stores it's data there, adobe stores it's settings there and they work well and they know why. There is reaaly no need to invent something, that was successfuly invented and decided ages ago.
(Of course, it's good choice is to have a chance to change the default path in registry. On the other hand there is no need to implement this option into gui and confuse users by more and more options. :) )
wxp pro sp2 en 32bit / AM 4.71 / Maxthon2 over ie7 / sav 10
horizon
Wiz
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2005 11:46 am

Postby WCStoll » Thu Oct 25, 2007 7:47 pm

Makes no difference to me as long as I can have it effective for all users and not have to make all kinds of decisions. Just want programs to download and if I want to delete them, then I want the program to delete everything belonging to it and not even leave an empty file on my pc.
User avatar
WCStoll
New User
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 4:21 am
Location: NY, USA

Postby Murray » Thu Oct 25, 2007 11:42 pm

Hehe, that annoys me too - when you're searching around your folders or registry for something and come across part of a program that you uninstalled years ago.

AM is pretty good at cleaning up after itself though, and I'll make sure the new settings storage folders are well taken care of.
User avatar
Murray
Ad Muncher Developer
 
Posts: 545
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2005 6:55 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Postby Emily » Wed Oct 31, 2007 12:39 pm

Yes from me. I like to have all the files in one place, which happens to be on an encrypted partition. So, please, do let us have the option!
Emily
New User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 9:43 am

(yes)

Postby mgambrell » Thu Nov 01, 2007 5:51 am

I vote YES give me the option because life is too short to waste time reconfiguring things when you reinstall. documents and settings is full of garbage, its not worth bringing to a new OS install.

I acknowlege that here in 2007 I guess we have to start using user directories and whatnot but the option you propose is quite nice to have.
mgambrell
New User
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 5:45 am

Postby WCStoll » Thu Nov 01, 2007 6:23 pm

That's great, Murray :D
User avatar
WCStoll
New User
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 4:21 am
Location: NY, USA

PreviousNext

Return to Development Status

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron